Honours, Medals & Awards

The most prestigious and long-standing awards in global aerospace honouring achievement, innovation and excellence. The Society awards Honours, Medals and Specialist Awards to both individuals and teams and covers a full range of aerospace disciplines.

The Society awards Honours, Medals and Specialist Awards to both individuals and teams. The Specialist Awards are intended to cover the full range of aerospace disciplines.

Medals and Awards Committee

Members of the Royal Aeronautical Society's Medals and Awards Committee are leading national figures in aeronautics and aerospace. They are supported by an International Adjudication Panel (IAP), in arriving at recommendations for decision by the Council of the Society. The expertise of both the Committee and the IAP encompasses:

1) The international aerospace industry.
2) Aerospace research or education.
3) Government or the armed forces.

Membership of the Committee

Air Cdre Bill Tyack CBE FRAeS (Chairman)
Brigadier Neil Sexton BA (Hons) MA FRAeS
Mr Behrooz Barzegar CEng MRAeS
Mr Peter Davison AMRAeS
Mr Lambert Dopping-Hepenstal BSc CEng FREng FIET FRAeS
Mr Jeremy Graham BSc CEng FRAeS
Professor Kevin Knowles BSc(Hons) PhD CEng AFAIAA FRAeS
Mr Graham Lake FRAeS
Dr Alan Partridge BSc(Hons) PhD CEng FIMMM
Mr Robert Savidge CEng FRAeS

Who qualifies for an Honour, Medal or Award?

The Society's Honours, Medals and Awards recognise the innovation and excellence of both individuals and teams. They are conferred for achievements and contributions in all disciplines of the global aerospace industry. Anyone and any team that has made an exceptional contribution to aerospace anywhere in the world whether for example, in academia, aerospace, manufacturing, air transport, air traffic control, defence, government or research is eligible. Nominations are encouraged from both members and non-members of the Society.

Who can nominate for an Honour, Medal or Award?

Any individual, working in any area of aerospace, anywhere in the world, can nominate another individual or team they know by taking a few minutes to complete the simple nomination form.

How do I nominate?

To nominate simply complete the form below and return it to the Society.

Nomination Form

The deadline for the 2017 nominations is now closed. All nominations received for the Royal Aeronautical Society Honours, Medals and Awards will now be considered for the 2018 round.

Specialist Groups Recommendations?

Recommendations from the Society’s Specialist Groups are particularly welcome for the Specialist Awards.

Who selects the winners?

The Honours, Medals and Awards Committee makes recommendations, in consultation with an International Panel, to the Council of the Society. The final decision rests with the Council. The Committee is chaired by Dr Mike Steeden PhD Bc CEng FRAeS.

What is the procedure for nominations?

Using the nomination form you can select the appropriate Honour, Medal or Award for your nominee from the details provided. Please note your chosen award may be subject to change as per review by the Honours, Medals and Awards Committee.

1) All sections of the nomination form must be completed.
2) All completed nomination forms are acknowledged.
3) The Committee will consider all nominations.
4) The Committee will then put forward a list of recommended nominations to the Council of the Society, for consideration and approval.
5) The successful nominee will be informed of their award.
6) All proposers of nominations sent to the secretary of the Medals & Awards.

Committee will be advised should their candidate be successful or unsuccessful.

When are the Honours, Medals & Awards presented?

Presentation of the 2018 Honours, Medals and Awards will take place at a time and venue to be advised.

Who are the recent winners?

The most recent winners can be found in the Roll of Honour in the latest brochure. which can be found here.

Who can I contact?

You can contact Scott Phillips at scott.phillips@aerosociety.com or by telephone: +44 (0) 20 7670 4303.