The Council

Council, concentrates on managing the professional, technical and learned society affairs of the Society. It works alongside the Board of Trustees in supporting the direction and leadership required to achieve, the key objectives within the Strategic Plan.

Council 2017-18.jpg
Royal Aeronautical Society Council members for 2017-18 pictured in the Marshall of Cambridge Room at No.4 Hamilton Place

The Council has key role in increasing and maintaining the influence, respect and reputation of the Society globally, and sustaining and developing the body of knowledge and learned output. The Council is made up of The President, President-Elect, Immediate Past-President, Presidents of our global divisions, Chairman of the Branches and Specialists Group Committee as well as eighteen members elected by the Society.

The Council is responsible for the Nominations Committee; Centennial Scholarship Committee; Foundation Committee; Medals & Awards Committee Policy Committee and the Heritage Awards Committee.

ex Officio members

* ACM Sir Stephen Dalton FRAeS - President
* Rear Adm Simon Henley FRAeS - President-Elect
* Prof Chris Atkin CEng FRAeS - Immediate Past President
* AM Salim Arshad FRAeS - President, Pakistan Division
* Mr John Macilree MRAeS - President, New Zealand Division
* Dr Glen Snedden FRAeS - President, South Africa Division
* Mr Andrew Neely CEng FRAeS - President, Australia Division
* Mr Jeremy Graham CEng FRAeS - Chair, Specialist Groups Chairmen Committee
* Mr Michael Goulette CEng FRAeS - Chair, Branches Committee

Elected Members

* Miss Hilary Barton CEng FRAeS
* Mr Martin Broadhurst FRAeS
* Mr Geoffrey Clarkson CEng FRAeS
* Professor Jonathan Cooper CEng FRAeS
* Mrs Brenda Crawford ARAeS
* Dr Francesca De Florio FRAeS
* Capt Hugh Dibley FRAeS
* Lt Cdr Richard Gearing CEng MRAeS
* Miss Kerissa Khan ARAeS
* Mr Ian Middleton FRAeS
* Mr Howard Nye FRAeS
* Wg Cdr Ross Priday CEng FRAeS
* Dr Thurai Rahulan FRAeS
* Air Cdre Peter Round FRAeS
* Mr Robert Savidge FRAeS
* Mr Philip Spiers CEng FRAeS
* Dr Robert Winn FRAeS
* Dr Alisdair Wood CEng FRAeS

Co-opted Members

* Mr Luke Hamnett MEng(Hons) CEng MRAeS
* Mr Daniel McKenna ARAeS
* Mr Simon Phippard LLB AKC FRAeS